BE FOUND – Google Wisdom

You want people to be able to find your web site quickly and easily. Here are tips to help Search Engines like Google find you.

1) Google Yourself with the search terms your customers, clients or prospect would use.  If you can’t find your site, they won’t be able to either.

2) Choose appropriate, memorable domain names: choose web addresses/domain names that are easy to remember and describes YOU.

3)  Learn about SEOSearch Engine Optimization – the tools and tricks that make it easier for big search engines like Google or Yahoo to find you.  Some search engines allow you to submit your site, others find you.  The more sites that link to your site, the higher your ranking with the search engines.

4) Add Meta Tags “description” and “keywords” to your header
The “description” tag is especially important – it appears after your domain name in Google’s search results.  The “keywords” tag helps search engines define what search words will find on your site.

Here’s what the header code looks like:
<head>
<title>Marketing Machismo – Million Dollar Marketing for Shoe String Budgets</title>
<meta http-equiv=”content-type” content=”text/html” />
<meta name=”keywords” content=”shoe string marketing, guerilla marketing, michele moore, happiness habit” />
<meta name=”description” content=”Million dollar marketing for shoe string budgets – Making building your brand, image and marketing fun, easy and inexpensive!” />
</head>

* If you are using a free WordPress blog with a Domain Discover web address /domain name like MarketingMachismo.com, the “keywords” and “description” meta tags are added on the Domain Discover Frame Forwarding page.

View Code: You can view code for any web site by clicking Page in Internet Explorer and choosing View Source.  If you are using FireFox, right click on the page and choose Page Source.  A new window with the code should appear.

Remember the world wide web is a huge place and there are billions of existing sites, links and domain names.

To Verify Your Website and Domain Name – See the Tools section on the left hand side of the WordPress Dashboard  and follow the instructions below:

http://en.support.wordpress.com/webmaster-tools/
http://www.onkarjoshi.com/blog/130/add-site-owner-verification-code-for-a-free-wordpress-com-blog/

In your Google Webmaster Tools area, find Verify A Site, highlight the meta tag code and paste it into the code section in the Tools menu like this  and hit save. Then try to verify your domain name from your Google Webmaster Tool menu.

Include A Site Map – Free WordPress blogs automatically have Google sitemaps enabled, but you have to tell your Google Webmaster account to look for them.  On your Google Webmaster dashboard, on the left side click Site Configuration then Sitemaps. Click Submit a sitemap and type in sitemap.xml  and submit it.  See: http://en.support.wordpress.com/sitemaps/

Here is some more Wisdom from Google:

Google – Submit Your Content
http://www.google.com/submityourcontent/index.html

Google Webmaster Central
http://www.google.com/support/webmasters/bin/answer.py?answer=35769

There are many more sites – Google and explore them at your convenience.

About Marketing Machismo

Marketing Machismo - Million Dollar Marketing for Shoe String Budgets
This entry was posted in Marketing Machismo, Marketing on a Shoe String and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to BE FOUND – Google Wisdom

  1. Pingback: Making Marketing Fun, Inexpensive And Powerful! « Marketing Machismo

  2. Roger says:

    Ahaa, its fastidious dialogue concerning this piece of writing at this place at
    this web site, I have read all that, so now me
    also commenting at this place.

  3. gay webcam says:

    I blog frequently and I seriously thank you for your content.
    This article has really peaked my interest.
    I’m going to bookmark your blog and keep checking for new information about once per week. I subscribed to your Feed too.

  4. Eloisa says:

    It’s an awesome piece of writing in support of all the online visitors; they will take benefit from it I am sure.

  5. Hi my loved one! I wish to say that this post is amazing, nice written and come with almost all important infos.

    I would like to look extra posts like this .

  6. whoah this weblog is fantastic i love reading your posts.

    Keep up the great work! You already know, lots of persons are
    hunting round for this information, you could help them greatly.

  7. I simply could not depart your site prior to suggesting that I really loved the usual information a person provide on your guests?
    Is gonna be again often in order to check up on new posts

  8. Anne says:

    You can certainly see your expertise in the work you write.

    The arena hopes for more passionate writers like you who aren’t afraid to mention how they believe. Always go after your heart.

  9. Having read this I thought it was really informative.
    I appreciate you taking the time and effort to put this short article together.
    I once again find myself spending a significant
    amount of time both reading and leaving comments. But so what, it was still worthwhile!

  10. Micheal says:

    hello!,I really like your writing very much! percentage we communicate extra about your post on AOL?
    I require an expert on this space to unravel my
    problem. May be that’s you! Looking forward to see you.

  11. I think this is one of the most vital information for me.
    And i’m glad reading your article. But should remark on few general things, The site style is ideal, the articles is really nice : D. Good job, cheers

  12. Hey there, my name is Sidney and I’m a fellow blogger out of Leiden, Netherlands. I like what you guys are up to. Coming upon BE FOUND was refreshing and helpful in terms of writing and work. Carry on the nice work guys: I’ve incorporated you guys to my blogroll. I’m
    sure it will improve the worth of my web site.

  13. Howdy! Someone in my Facebook group shared
    this website with us so I came to look it over. I’m definitely loving the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting
    this to my followers! Exceptional blog and wonderful design.

  14. Shelley says:

    This piece of writing will help the internet visitors for setting up new webpage or even a weblog from start to end.

  15. Good day! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be okay. I’m undoubtedly enjoying your blog and
    look forward to new updates.

  16. I like what you guys tend to be up too. Such clever work and coverage!
    Keep up the awesome works guys I’ve included you guys to my personal blogroll.

  17. I pay a visit daily some web sites and websites to
    read articles, however this webpage offers quality based posts.

  18. I am genuinely grateful to the owner of this website who has shared this wonderful
    article at at this place.

Leave a Reply

